Eli's Corner

i’d like to give up infertility for lent this year

18 Comments

As you may have seen from my previous update, they were only able to get three eggs from my ovaries, but miraculously, two of those three fertilized.  

We got the call yesterday, and the timing in terms of where we were and what we were doing was incredibly sweet, but I kind of want to hold that close for now.  Kind of holding all of this close.

They rushed us in for a day 2 transfer this morning, and we saw our embies on a screen just before they were transferred.  One is 3 cells and the other is 4 – graded B and C respectively (the scale runs best-worst from A-D).

They wished us luck, advised me not to test early and to stay off the internet (ha!), and they tried to instill in us what they considered to be an appropriate level of hope – general positivity without too much expectation.

As it turns out, however, I’m already in love with these little cells, all seven of them.  I’m aware of the odds and all of that, but there is simply no mitigating how badly I want them to grow and thrive.  I’m blown away that each little embryo has the all the DNA of a unique person – a person made from me and my husband.  So I’m going to celebrate them as long as they’re around – whether it’s days, months, or for the rest of my life.  And I’m going to make myself a paper chain.

 

 

Author: eli

I'm trying to become a mom. I write about that and other things here. Welcome to my little corner of the web.

18 thoughts on “i’d like to give up infertility for lent this year

  1. How exciting! Now the hard part, the wait. LOL that your doctor’s office advises you not to test early or get on the internet….yea right. Best of luck with your wait, I hope you are handsomely rewarded at the end :)

    • Thank you, Jen :) I already tested once – Wednesday…like a full week before the blood test…BFN, but what did I expect, really? Hope your IUI 2ww is going well. We’ll both have answers soon xx

      • Thanks, it’s not too bad so far. Today in 8dpiui and I still haven’t tested. Thinking of either testing 10 or 12dpiui….we shall see. I hope we both have good news very soon :)

        • Me too! (I didn’t let myself go buy more pee sticks – I had 3 in the house at the beginning of this cycle, so 3 is what I’m going to use…it’s keeping me from going too nuts – must use my last 2 strategically ;)

  2. YAY!! Positive thoughts your way!

  3. So sweet, happy PUPO hun!! I’m hoping & praying for your little embies right now, sending you so many positive implanty vibes. xxx

  4. What a beautiful thought: “I’m blown away that each little embryo has the all the DNA of a unique person – a person made from me and my husband.” I just love this. I’m thinking about you and sending positivity your way.

  5. Praying for you girlie!!! Today, until proven otherwise, you are pregnant!!

    waitingforbabybird.com

  6. Any symptoms yet???

    • Hi Tiana…yes, I’ve got loads…but this is my 5th time on progesterone during a 2ww, so I know that my body does this stuff every time on this drug. I’m on the home stretch now though…will know in a few days.

  7. Hello, I found your blog this morning.. I had a 3 day transfer on Sunday, was perusing the internet for info on how to survive the 2 week wait (I’m feeling a bit all over the place) and found one of your earlier posts. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for you – this process absolutely sucks and your last few posts really struck a chord with me. They only retrieved 5 eggs with me, of which 3 fertilised and they popped two ‘medium predictors’ back in. I felt quite positive on Sunday but much less so for the past few days… we’ll see I guess! Becky x

    • Hi Becky, sorry you’re going through this process…thanks for keeping your fingers crossed for me – I will do the same for you. I’ve been on a bit of a roller coaster this 2ww – have at least by now learned to ignore symptoms, though. We’ll know soon. Hope this cycle is the end of your waiting!

Leave a Reply

