Eli's Corner

slow cooker vegan chili recipe review

2 Comments

As promised, I’m testing the recipes on my Endometriosis Diet Pinterest board to make sure I’m not recommending yuck food.  I had the perfect opportunity to try the vegan chili this week, as I was having a crew of people with a broad range of dietary restrictions over to my house for an informal dinner.  I always feel like it’s sad when the lone vegetarian has to show up with her own tofu sandwich or eat some crappy lesser meal that was thrown together with her in mind, so I wanted us all eating the same thing.  I decided to start with a gluten-free, dairy-free, meatless base and then provide options for people to add to it as they liked.  I made a big pot of the chili and had shredded cheese, cilantro, sliced avocado and lime, as well as chopped-up and sauteed bison sausage all lined up buffet-style as possible fixings.  And of course, there were a couple loaves of hearty bread.

As it turned out, we had 12 people (I was expecting 8), and despite the chicken noodle soup I put on (my mother in law’s – really good soup) – at the end of the night, somebody was literally scraping the last little beans out of the chili crock pot, while we still had ample soup left.  I think this is a solid recipe and will keep it in the rotation – especially for this type of situation.  (Incidentally, the vegetarian pulled me aside afterwards and expressly thanked me for providing something she could eat along with everybody else.  *warm fuzzies*)

I made enough changes to this recipe (based on a compilation of reviewer comments) that it would be easier to just re-write it than have you checking back and forth for all my edits (the spices are entirely different, there are more fresh veggies, and there are a couple other tweaks).

Tragically, I didn’t get a picture of it before it was devoured, because I am a lame-ass blogger.  I did, however, take a picture of the beans after I threw them into the pot.  Does it help you understand how to make this recipe?  No.  Are the colors kind of pretty?  Sure.  Does it in any way resemble the finished product?  No.  But that was also pretty. Unfortunately, you’ll have to take my word for it.

photo (7)

INGREDIENTS:

1 (19 ounce) can black beans (drained)

1 (19 ounce) can kidney beans (rinsed and drained)

1 (19 ounce) can garbanzo beans (rinsed and drained)

1 (14 ounce) can vegetarian baked beans (drained)

1 (12 ounce) can whole kernel corn (drained)

1 (28 oz) can diced tomatoes

2 tomatoes (diced)

1 onion (chopped)

1 orange bell pepper (chopped)

2 stalks celery (chopped)

3 cloves garlic (minced)

2 tbsp chili powder

1.5 tbsp cumin

2 tsp sea salt

1 tsp cayenne pepper

A few grinds of black pepper

DIRECTIONS:

Combine all ingredients in a slow cooker and cook on low for 8 hours.

BOTTOM LINE: easy, tasty, adaptable, freezable, feeds a crowd.  One downside is that it’s difficult to make more of this recipe without doubling it – which you can’t really do unless you’ve got 2 slow cookers.  I’d say this is best for a crowd of up to 8 people.

Author: eli

I'm trying to become a mom. I write about that and other things here. Welcome to my little corner of the web.

2 thoughts on “slow cooker vegan chili recipe review

  1. Thanks! I’m a veggie and I’m trying to do a fertility cleanse..I can actually eat this! (Feeling very limited lately)

Leave a Reply

