Eli's Corner

the internet is good, vol. 1

Leave a comment

Here are some things I came across on the world wide web that made my week better:

Some of the most profound things I’ve ever read are in a pocket-sized book of Fred Rogers quotes called “You are Special.”  I’ve had it for years and only recently bothered to read it.  It’s all simple to the point of sounding extremely corny, but I somehow feel like I’d be a wiser, more confident, more whole human being if this guy were the voice in my head.  Here he is being all simple and profound before a senate committee: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_JPEWhV9N8

This mixed-message pep talk is actually more similar to the voice in my head: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qNDK7nLSL_Q

Jilian Burden is one of those people who has really beautiful, gracious words for things I didn’t know how to articulate.  After reading a post from an acquaintance (who is a successful mommy blogger) about the royal postpartum bump that was written in a very rah-rah-my-baby-weight-and-stretch-marks-make-me-better-than-you kind of way, this gentle, heartfelt admission of longing was a balm to me:  http://www.addingaburden.com/2013/07/when-you-would-die-for-post-partum-bulge.html

Over the past couple of years, I’ve become obsessed with storytelling podcasts, particularly This American Life, and more recently The Moth.  Here is a story I loved.  Take from it what you will.  My take is, “It is never too late to be awesome.”  http://themoth.org/posts/stories/the-case-of-the-curious-codes

Author: eli

I'm trying to become a mom. I write about that and other things here. Welcome to my little corner of the web.

Leave a Reply

