Eli's Corner

update, and why the royal baby is and is not a big deal

Leave a comment

Soooo, writing about not being able to have a baby actually gets kinda old after like a year or so.  I know, right?  Totally surprising.  I might need to branch out here, folks.  But I’m going to continue to document this process for various reasons (which I might write a post about at some point, but not today).  So the major updates will be on here.  One of which being I switched back to my old/new fertility clinic, gave up on waiting for those stupid Fragile X test results, and am planning to proceed with another round of superovulation IUI starting whenever my period starts, which should be, like, tomorrow.

In the meantime, I wanted to leave you with things that are more interesting than the Royal Baby.  But I have to say, I am happy for Will and Kate – seriously.  She probably had more pressure placed on her to reproduce successfully than any woman currently living on the planet.  I can’t even imagine.  It seems so utterly archaic that such a huge part of her role in life would be to produce an heir, but there you go.  Thank God I didn’t marry a prince.  This whole thing would just be so much worse (I mean, look at what happened to English royals who gave birth to girls…and I can’t even swing that).  At any rate, good on her for successfully bringing a child into the world…probably simultaneously the most mundane and miraculous event in human experience, regardless of who the kid’s parents are.  On the one hand I’m like, ok, so Prince William’s wife had a baby.  Whatever.  On the other hand I feel like anybody getting successfully born deserves pretty much as much fanfare as this kid is getting.  So here’s to them, and to all of us who were born.  Turns out it’s a pretty big frickin’ deal.

Author: eli

I'm trying to become a mom. I write about that and other things here. Welcome to my little corner of the web.

Leave a Reply

